Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Questions and answers about Bebop, Bebop 2 and the Parrot Skycontroller.
User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 16 Jul 2018, 01:12

Running Free Flight Pro on my Bebop2
Last flight I noticed no elevation, or distance numbers showing while in flight.
What could cause this?

User avatar
solaris8x86
Strange wobble
Posts: 233
Joined: 23 Jun 2015, 17:02
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by solaris8x86 » 16 Jul 2018, 05:43

larry31 wrote:
16 Jul 2018, 01:12
Running Free Flight Pro on my Bebop2
Last flight I noticed no elevation, or distance numbers showing while in flight.
What could cause this?
Do a calibration again via FreeFlight. See if it comes back.
Advancing Bebop 2 to Router Mod with deep explanation: http://youtu.be/cumh4VZonVE
Bebop 2 Flight Record #0010 Finale (must watch): http://youtu.be/1pNyMSKwWaQ

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 16 Jul 2018, 15:20

Thanks for reply.
I did a reset.. ( hold pwr button for 10 - 15 sec's.)
Uninstalled FreeFlight Pro, and reinstalled it.
Calibrated bebop.
Seems to be OK now. ( Only one flight so far.)

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 12 Oct 2018, 02:20

Update:
I've been in contact with Parrot support. Here's their reply.

Oct. 8, 2018......... "It is a Drone and Application update issue . But there should be a new update coming soon to resolve this issue .

We apologize again for the inconvenience. "


I replied......... Will I be notified when the update is available?

Oct. 9, 2018......... "You should be notified through the application when a new update is available ! "

When I received my drone, it did display elevation, and distance. I did an update, and sometime after that is when I noticed the missing readouts.

The version when received was... V-4.4.2
The update done was V-4.7.1

Is it possible to go back to original version?

Apolonio
Ready for take off
Posts: 34
Joined: 04 May 2018, 03:49
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by Apolonio » 12 Oct 2018, 02:24

Recently happened to me Larry,

Closed out the app and reloaded the app. That fixed it, happened to both my bebop 2 and both controllers.

Enjoy the bebop,
Paul

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 12 Oct 2018, 02:28

I tried that, but it did not make any difference.

BTW: Can someone explain the GeoFence settings?

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 13 Oct 2018, 18:07

Is it possible to return to a earlier version update?

My Bebop 2 has V-4.7.1 on it now. I would like to do a manual downgrade to an earlier version, to see if my missing elevation, and distance info can be displayed.

I found this site...
https://github.com/uavpal/beboptwo4g/wi ... ot-Bebop-2
Listing earlier updates for download.

AND

This site lists Release notes...
https://community.parrot.com/t5/Bebop-2 ... te/ta-p/73

When I received my Bebop, it had V-4.4.1 ( It did display elevation, and distance info.)
After doing a V-4.7.1 update, sometime later, I lost my distance, and elevation display.
( YES I did a full reset, and uninstall/re-install of Free Flight Pro! )

I just want to confirm it was the update to V-4.7.1 that lost my display of Elevation, and distance.

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 27 Oct 2018, 13:47

After several e-mails to Parrot support, I'm really frustrated!
I've tried every thing they suggested to try. Several times! All they are doing is sending me same things to try, with no fixes. This last e-mail was just a list of videos to watch.
This is a defect which occurred just after doing a update to V-4.7.1 ( It was working great before that.)
I've asked several times if it is possible to return to the previous version. They just ignore that question, every time I ask it! I'm being given the run-a-round by support.

Looks like I may be looking at a dji drone. Parrot is of no help in this matter.

Online
User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1248
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by AR.Tommy » 27 Oct 2018, 13:49

Why don't you just downgrade it to a pre 4.7.1 version?
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

User avatar
dries_w
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 18 Oct 2018, 10:05
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by dries_w » 27 Oct 2018, 14:02

If you dont have a distance read out in FFpro you probably dont have a GPS also.
Imo it has nothing to do with a FW version but a GPS connector/cable defst or whole GPS modul faulty.
BB2 since december 2015 - iPhoine - Xiaomi WiFi extender - allways latest updates

Triden121
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: 13 Sep 2018, 04:05
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by Triden121 » 30 Oct 2018, 21:11

What smart device are you using? If you are using an Android phone with Android 8 there is a known issue that they are supposedly working on correcting. Mine works about half of the time. One thing I have learned about parrot tech support is if they don't know the answer some of them will make stuff up.

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 01 Nov 2018, 19:20

AR Tommy
I don't know how to do that, and every time I brought up the subject, Parrot service just ignore my question.
I'm not very computer savvy. If it can be done, without killing my Bebop, I'd like to know how.
I was running V-4.4.2 before, and had all readouts.

dries_w
I would have thought Parrot support would have addressed that, but they refuse to even accept it back under warrantee.

Triden121
Thanks! I did not know they had an issue like that. It was never mentioned in either of my 2 service requests.
I'm controlling it with a Samsung Galaxy Tab-2 with Android V-7 My tablet says it's up to date.
Before the V-4.7.1 update, it worked OK using that tablet.

All this Drone stuff is new to me, and I'm trying to learn as much as I can.

User avatar
waterlanding
Up and hovering
Posts: 102
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by waterlanding » 01 Nov 2018, 21:58

larry31 wrote:
01 Nov 2018, 19:20
Thanks! I did not know they had an issue like that. It was never mentioned in either of my 2 service requests.
I'm controlling it with a Samsung Galaxy Tab-2 with Android V-7 My tablet says it's up to date.
Before the V-4.7.1 update, it worked OK using that tablet.

It's not the drone's firmware. There was also an app update around the same time, and that's your problem.

I have the same tablet, a Galaxy Tab S2 with android v 7.0, Bebop 2 firmware 4.7.1, and app version 5.2.1 (the last version). It works fine! I get a strong GPS lock every time I connect. Speed, distance, and altitude all read normally.

Note that my app version is one rev behind. 5.2.2 (the current version) caused more bugs than it fixed. I don't update FFPro or the drone's firmware until they're well tested, and now you can see why. Parrot screws up a lot.

I also keep an older Samsung phone (S4) with android version 5.0.1. I updated the app in that phone to 5.2.2. Guess what? It works fine too!

So there's your explanation. The updated app (5.2.2) is not fully compatible with android 7.0. No big surprise to me. Android 7.0 has always has issues with some apps (not just Parrot's).

Since you use an android device, there's a (relatively) easy fix. Simply downgrade the app to 5.2.1 and it will work fine again. Uninstall the app, and get a copy of the FFPro 5.2.1 "apk" file. Install 5.2.1 from the file and you'll be flying in no time. I don't have the .apk for 5.2.1, but I'm sure somebody here can provide it to you. That's all you're going to need. :D
Last edited by waterlanding on 03 Nov 2018, 12:49, edited 1 time in total.

happydrew
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Oct 2018, 15:14
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 5 times
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by happydrew » 02 Nov 2018, 14:29

So poster knows by now its not a FW issue, its not a Parrot that screws up, its the phone/tablet manufacturer that uses a Andoid version that causes a lot of issues, not only with Parrot drones. The Apple devices dont have those isues :D

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Lost elevation & Distance readouts

Post by larry31 » 03 Nov 2018, 02:38

Thanks for the great explanation.
I'm going to try and find V-5.1.1 and install on my Galaxy tab-2. Keeping my fingers crossed to see if it solves my problem.
I'm having trouble trying to figure out how to get the FFP V-5.1.1 onto my tablet. As said before, I am just learning how to use my tablet. Much different than my desktop.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest