Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Questions and answers about Bebop, Bebop 2 and the Parrot Skycontroller.
Post Reply
bebop_cowboy
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 00:00
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by bebop_cowboy » 03 Dec 2018, 00:06

The Parrot.com forum site is down. I cant find any info about Version update 1.0.9. My Question is what did they fix or improve in this update? Does anyone know? Curious as to what they did. Thanks

Bebop_Cowboy

User avatar
waterlanding
Up and hovering
Posts: 100
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by waterlanding » 03 Dec 2018, 22:51

bebop_cowboy wrote:
03 Dec 2018, 00:06
The Parrot.com forum site is down. I cant find any info about Version update 1.0.9. My Question is what did they fix or improve in this update? Does anyone know? Curious as to what they did. Thanks

Bebop_Cowboy

"What did they fix or improve?" … The more important question (given Parrot's track record on updates) is "What did they break or downgrade?" I'm going to stay away from 1.0.9 until we hear what it actually does. My SkyController already works just fine. :)

PrivateSin
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Sep 2018, 20:47
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by PrivateSin » 03 Dec 2018, 23:47

i recently updated my skycontroller 2 to version 1.0.9 what i noticed now is that when landing the propollers not stopping at all, till it crashes, which is a big problem (crashed twice) now i fell fear to use my parrot bebop 2, happily the 2 crashes didn't broke my drone :?

bebop_cowboy
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 00:00
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by bebop_cowboy » 04 Dec 2018, 09:21

hi, i have upgraded and although i have not flown my drone only once i have not had the problem you suggest it lands just like before. What version were you using before the upgrade. Also it maybe a drone Version issue if you have not upgraded the drones firmware.

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1247
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by AR.Tommy » 04 Dec 2018, 09:30

Technically there is no way for the SkyController to affect the landing of the Bebop because it works like this: the SkyController "says" LAND and then the Bebop takes over and does everything else.
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

PrivateSin
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: 09 Sep 2018, 20:47
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 1 time
Been thanked: 0

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by PrivateSin » 04 Dec 2018, 23:28

Thanks to tell me what the skycontroller 2 do :roll: (i know that the remote controllers send commands to the receptors) - the skycontroller 2 still sending commands to the drone even when the bebop touch the ground (it still sending commands) then the drone fly hazardously and the crash is evident. bebop 2 and skycontroller 2 are both at the latest firmware (4.7.1 & 1.0.9). have good day

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1247
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by AR.Tommy » 05 Dec 2018, 06:55

Okay what I was trying to say is that the landing is autonomous and it's highly unlikely that the SkyController is messing things up.

Very easy to validate: turn the SkyController off and connect with the app only - now press the landing button in the app. Does the landing pattern look different?
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

Eagle430s
Ready for take off
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Oct 2018, 08:47
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by Eagle430s » 06 Dec 2018, 08:01

I tried to update my skycontroller 2 as well
Software was downloaded and transfered to skycontroller 2
Sc2 rebooted
And then...
Skycontroller 2 is not recognized by freeflightpro app no matter what i try
I even tried 2 tablets
Am stuck

Eagle430s
Ready for take off
Posts: 21
Joined: 30 Oct 2018, 08:47
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 5 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.5 Help

Post by Eagle430s » 06 Dec 2018, 14:25

Update
Today everything worked..i turned on my tablet and connected it with my sc2 via usb and turned wifi on
I checked for updates but i got the message that my sc2 is up todate with firmware version 1.0.5
Then i turned off wifi and connect with the drone..even i made a quick takeoff-landing
All i did was to fully charge the sc2
I guess when its on low battery it will not update..(it was around 20%)

User avatar
IronSpear
Ready for take off
Posts: 28
Joined: 17 Oct 2018, 09:02
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 21 times
Been thanked: 9 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.5 Help

Post by IronSpear » 09 Dec 2018, 01:36

Eagle430s wrote:
06 Dec 2018, 14:25
Update
Today everything worked..i turned on my tablet and connected it with my sc2 via usb and turned wifi on
I checked for updates but i got the message that my sc2 is up todate with firmware version 1.0.5
Then i turned off wifi and connect with the drone..even i made a quick takeoff-landing
All i did was to fully charge the sc2
I guess when its on low battery it will not update..(it was around 20%)
Correct you should always have fully charged batteries when updating.
-(2 x Parrot Bebop 2's - SC1/SC2 - Samsung S7)+(1 x Parrot Mambo - Flypad - Samsung S6)+(GoPro Karma Hero5)-All latest Updates-

User avatar
waterlanding
Up and hovering
Posts: 100
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by waterlanding » 09 Dec 2018, 13:33

My question is why did your SC2 require an update to 1.0.9 and then revert to 1.0.5. ?

Has anyone actually installed 1.0.9 in their SC2 successfully? I've seen a few failed attempts on the board, and no feedback on what the update actually does. :?:

Bebop.ca
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: 19 Oct 2018, 05:28
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by Bebop.ca » 10 Dec 2018, 01:32

I have successfully upgrade my older SC2(silver joysticks) to 1.0.9. Unfortunately I have not been able to do a flight with it yet. It does connect to the Bebop2 and I get video back, but that is all I have tested. Not sure when I will be able to do a flight as I have to drive quite aways to get to a place to fly. This time of year with the early darkness and the snow that supposed to come this week makes it even harder. If I do get a chance to fly I will post an update.

bebop_cowboy
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Dec 2018, 00:00
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 2 times
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Skycontroller 2 Update 1.0.9 Help

Post by bebop_cowboy » 12 Dec 2018, 08:24

waterlanding wrote:
09 Dec 2018, 13:33
My question is why did your SC2 require an update to 1.0.9 and then revert to 1.0.5. ?

Has anyone actually installed 1.0.9 in their SC2 successfully? I've seen a few failed attempts on the board, and no feedback on what the update actually does. :?:
I have updated awhile ago now and have flown several times "no issues" make sure your remote battery is fully charged BEFORE updating. Also make sure your phone is fully charged (if your using that method) and make sure you have a good data signal. I have no idea what the update does that was what i tried to find out in the original post. As for versions of the firmware i can help with that. If your Skycontroller 2 has a "P" after the "2" on the back like "skycontroller 2P" then you have version 2 (produced mostly in 2016-2017) of the SC2. It will also have the round single cell battery of 3.6 volts not the 11.xx Volts the Version 1 has. You cant update the "P" version to 1.07 or 1.09. You can only upgrade to 1.05. I do not know why. A friend of mine stated that it has something to do maybe with the charge volts being different for both versions of the SkyController 2s. hope that helps.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 94 guests