Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Questions and answers about Bebop, Bebop 2 and the Parrot Skycontroller.
Post Reply
1st timer
Ready for take off
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jun 2018, 21:53
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Post by 1st timer » 02 Nov 2018, 22:16

I flew my drone about 5 meters away and 10 meters high and when I initiate rth , it just lands (till 1 m off the ground).
Thought I was supposed to go back to its take off point. When I lost connection about 20 meters high ( with phone and not the remote) it actually returned to home position.
Am I using it wrong? I should also mention that for some reason the app kept crashing. That's why I was reluctant to go far.

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1247
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 34 times

Re: Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Post by AR.Tommy » 03 Nov 2018, 06:51

Hello,

this usually happens when you are very near to your home point already. I don't have the exact value in mind but it should be something like > 15 meters.
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

1st timer
Ready for take off
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jun 2018, 21:53
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Post by 1st timer » 03 Nov 2018, 11:34

Thanks. I'll text it next time.

User avatar
waterlanding
Up and hovering
Posts: 100
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 24 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Post by waterlanding » 03 Nov 2018, 23:55

1st timer wrote:
02 Nov 2018, 22:16
I flew my drone about 5 meters away and 10 meters high and when I initiate rth , it just lands (till 1 m off the ground).
Thought I was supposed to go back to its take off point. When I lost connection about 20 meters high ( with phone and not the remote) it actually returned to home position.
Am I using it wrong? I should also mention that for some reason the app kept crashing. That's why I was reluctant to go far.
Be sure you have a Green Icon (GPS Lock) before you take off, or your drone's first fix might be some distance away from the takeoff point. In that case RTH will go to where the drone first acquired it's GPS lock.

App crashing: I'm betting you're using an Android device. Simply go into settings and set the "Mini Map" feature to "Never." It's a known bug.

1st timer
Ready for take off
Posts: 21
Joined: 28 Jun 2018, 21:53
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Bebop 2 just lands when rth is initiated

Post by 1st timer » 04 Nov 2018, 00:02

Will do thanks.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 107 guests