UnPairing a used drone without original device

Problems of AR Drone 1.0, Freeflight 1.
Post Reply
sorad10
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 22:10
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Montreal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by sorad10 » 22 Oct 2015, 22:19

Hi.

My co worker gave me his used (and broken) AR V1. I had the cross member fixed but then when I try to use it, I realized it is still paired with the original owner phone (iPhone). The problem is that my friend is now back in Germany and I might never see him back....

Is there any way I can Reset or Unpair the drone without the original phone it was paired with?

Please help, I wan't to get into that Drone hobby soooooooon!! ;)
Last edited by AR.Tommy on 23 Oct 2015, 09:19, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Removed the VERY BIG title.

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1219
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by AR.Tommy » 23 Oct 2015, 09:14

Hello,

please see this video, how to unpair AR.Drone 1 and AR.Drone 2. You will need to unpair your AR.Drone if you get an 169.254.x.x IP address. (to be precise you did not get an IP address from the AR.Drone and your device self assigned this IP address)


Direct link: http://www.youtube.com/v/aFVq9CHqB0k
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

sorad10
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 22:10
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Montreal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by sorad10 » 23 Oct 2015, 13:12

Thanks Mr.

I have viewed also this Video and tried this method without luck. Let me try it again tonight to see if I had it wrong...

In the meantime, do you confirm that you can do this method with a new device that was never connected prior while the first paired device is still register to the drone (and out of reach)? Is this what you mean when you say the Device produced the IP and then the drone don't really care what device was paired with prior?

Additional information: My iPhone connect (to Wifi) to the AR, but I never get the WiFi icon on the top border of my phone screen, therefore, I can't use the control application to pilot the drone.

Thanks for any help, much appreciated! :)

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1219
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by AR.Tommy » 23 Oct 2015, 17:57

It is likely that your problem is different. Please check which IP address you are getting, you will need to unpair only if you see the 169.254.x.x IP address.

Btw: you will not get the wifi icon while still connected to the 3G network because the iPhone doesn't get an internet connection from the AR.Drone wifi. Always activate flight mode, then enable wifi and connect to the AR.Drone wifi network. Then you will see the wifi icon.
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

sorad10
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 22:10
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Montreal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by sorad10 » 23 Oct 2015, 22:43

image2Wifi.jpg
[img][img]
image2Wifi.jpg
[/img][/img]Hi!

I do have the address 192.168.1.2 and my phone connect to the drone WiFi signal, it just doesn't connect for any control. (See photo below)

I did every combinaison of Reset and Unpair I could think of, but it seem that it is still lock with the old phone it was paired with.

Is their any way to hard reset this device somehow???

Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1219
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 29 times
Been thanked: 23 times

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by AR.Tommy » 24 Oct 2015, 10:28

192.168.1.2 means you are basically able to connect, no need to unpair. This could be caused by a bug.

Do you own Drone Control? Then chances are that you can fix it this way:


Direct link: http://www.youtube.com/v/VPD18ow_7F8

More informations in this thread: http://www.ardrone-flyers.com/forum/vie ... 27&p=36353
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

sorad10
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 22:10
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Montreal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by sorad10 » 24 Oct 2015, 17:06

Mr AR.Tommy!

I purchased the Drone Control App, and it connected to my drone right away! I had to quickly leave for my class this morning, but I had it up in the air for a few seconds before it went sideways.... Anyhow, I might need to adjust or fix something since it had previously crashed when I got it from my friend....

So, thank you so much for the help, I was not aware that changing the control App would fix it right away...

Have a good weekend! :)

sorad10
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 22 Oct 2015, 22:10
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Montreal
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: UnPairing a used drone without original device

Post by sorad10 » 25 Oct 2015, 22:57

Wow!

Just discover that my Drone have 3x A propeller, and 1x C propeller!!!! I don't WTF why, but I will right away order 2 set of brand new propeller to get the basic straight!!! :D

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 122 guests