iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Questions and answers about Bebop, Bebop 2 and the Parrot Skycontroller.
Post Reply
User avatar
boneyrd
Ready for take off
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Aug 2017, 01:50
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Denver, Co

iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by boneyrd » 27 Aug 2017, 03:25

Hello, I received an iPad 2 as a gift and had planned on using it to fly my drone. It has a 8 inch screen which I like compared to using my phone.

I am uncertain of the info I read elsewhere but I'm curious how well this will be for my drone. I read somewhere that I can't use Flight Plan because of the lack of gps?

I installed the free flight pro already. I noticed that I get the GPS indicator is in Orange rather than green.
Also I can't hit the locator button due to it being greyed out.

I'm connected to the drone via wireless but that's it. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance
" Workaholics procrastinate too... I'll sleep tomorrow."

User avatar
boneyrd
Ready for take off
Posts: 14
Joined: 20 Aug 2017, 01:50
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Denver, Co

Re: iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by boneyrd » 27 Aug 2017, 03:38

So when I was trying this out I was sitting on my couch.....indoors. lesson learned to be "outside" to get a signal. So I got the green arrow and I can see the BB on the screen but no map.
" Workaholics procrastinate too... I'll sleep tomorrow."

Ripperrooblue
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Oct 2017, 21:02
Drone Type: Bebop 2

Re: iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by Ripperrooblue » 28 Oct 2017, 21:03

Hi

You can only use the flight plan part of the app if you have a gps signal. You can fly the drone fine but not use the flight plan option.
Enjoy

User avatar
Bobrobot1
Up and hovering
Posts: 121
Joined: 11 Dec 2016, 06:42
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Contact:

Re: iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by Bobrobot1 » 31 Oct 2017, 01:04

The lack of GPS on the device makes flight plan unusable. Try getting a different device. also, try going outside.
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD.

Just kidding! I use my Mac! :)

Keep looking up!

waterlanding
Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2

Re: iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by waterlanding » 11 Nov 2017, 18:16

Sorry to jump in and correct people but you DEFINATELY CAN fly a FlightPlan without device GPS. I do it all the time... All FlightPlan requires is for the drone to have a good GPS lock.

Without device GPS you won't have the "Radar" feature, but the FlightPlan data (sent to the drone) gets its waypoint info from the map, not your device. Once the plan starts, the drone is on its own. And as long as the drone has a GPS lock on takeoff, even RTH even works flawlessly.

User avatar
Bobrobot1
Up and hovering
Posts: 121
Joined: 11 Dec 2016, 06:42
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Contact:

Re: iPad 2 tablet for my BB1. Issues with GPS?

Post by Bobrobot1 » 14 Nov 2017, 16:55

waterlanding wrote:
11 Nov 2017, 18:16
Sorry to jump in and correct people but you DEFINATELY CAN fly a FlightPlan without device GPS. I do it all the time... All FlightPlan requires is for the drone to have a good GPS lock.

Without device GPS you won't have the "Radar" feature, but the FlightPlan data (sent to the drone) gets its waypoint info from the map, not your device. Once the plan starts, the drone is on its own. And as long as the drone has a GPS lock on takeoff, even RTH even works flawlessly.
I meant lack of GPS on the device (the drone).
Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD.

Just kidding! I use my Mac! :)

Keep looking up!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests