AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Moderator: ShellDude

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 09 Jan 2014, 03:08

Pushing out 2.1.2.7 tonight. I am on a bug slaying rampage

Code: Select all

  % Version 2.1.2.7
  _ 2013-01-09
  ! ACRA
  	* Implemented ACRA (Application Crash Reports for Android)
  	* Please support the continued development of AR.Pro by only submitting crash reports using the latest version

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 10 Jan 2014, 23:54

Will likely release 2.1.2.8 tonight

Code: Select all

  % Version 2.1.2.8
  _ 2013-01-10
  ! "A goccia a goccia s'incava la pietra" 
  	* Italian localization implemented
  	* Motor spin up test individually or all in Motor Prefs - It is STRONGLY recommended that you reboot your drone prior to flying after testing your motors
  	* Wi-Fi channel change on connect and while connected - this can be buggy if you have multiple networks configured - Auto SSID Connect is recommended here as it disables all other configured networks
  	* Do not inhibit hoverlock if only gamepad input is collective and/or yaw
  	* Removed bitmap caching for a couple GoogleMap/SlidingDrawer actions
  	* Consolidated all networking methods into a static NetworkUtils class
  	* TODO: base bearing to origin off of lon/lat when FR connected
  	* TODO: base altitude off of FR when connected
        * TODO: Fix auto USB download when GPS connected
	* TODO: Custom Maneuvers
	* TODO: Add POIs (points of interest)
	* TODO: Add Waypoint Travel orientation (relative to nose and a POI) 	

Direct link: http://www.youtube.com/v/H4O9IgTc4HU

Carl190_1
Just flips over
Posts: 73
Joined: 07 Apr 2013, 20:51
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by Carl190_1 » 16 Jan 2014, 02:22

I previously had asked what Hover Lock was and was told it pertained mostly to gamepads.

Taken from post in this forum site titled 'Tethering Your Drone'
"Forgot to say that if you fly the ARDrone with a weighted tether such as I described, you should avoid sudden stops from high speed forward flight since the drone will tilt considerably during hover-lock and the line weight will tend to swing up over the prop area, causing the line to foul the props. If that happens, power will be cutoff and your drone will fall like a rock. (Note: some Android flight controllers -- e.g. ARDrone Flight Pro -- allow hover-lock to be turned off so that the drone glides smoothly to a halt.)"

Is that last sentence correct " drone glides smoothly to a halt" with hover lock off in this case?
Last edited by Carl190_1 on 16 Jan 2014, 15:27, edited 1 time in total.

Jayson Hanes
Spying is fun
Posts: 666
Joined: 23 May 2013, 14:42
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by Jayson Hanes » 16 Jan 2014, 04:22

yes Carl. It is not isolated to gamepads. I fly with hoverlock off below 100 feet most always.

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 16 Jan 2014, 06:22

Isolated to gamepads no, but easier to trigger with them, yes…. particularly when relying on your android's gyro to control cyclic (the default and preferred touchpad style for most).

For hover lock to engage the Parrot native library requires zeroes to be sent on all 4 control axis.

If you abruptly release the touchpad the drone will "jerk" into hover lock no different than rapidly releasing a gamepad's sticks…. it will actually happen about 500 milliseconds faster as I did not build any type of latency into the touchpad controls like I did with the gamepad ones.

Dead center is more easily attained (hands on) with a gamepad. It is very natural for us to simply move and/or release the sticks to zero. Our brains easily process true center because the sticks always provide some degree of resistance pushing them to that point.

While in touchpad mode our brain has to process a rotational axis (that of our android) and translate it to cyclic movement of the drone for one hand while processing a "blind" thumb movement controlling yaw and collective for the other. So long we keep the touchpad controls enabled the drone is constantly processing some form of (perhaps minute) control surface change.

Carl190_1
Just flips over
Posts: 73
Joined: 07 Apr 2013, 20:51
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by Carl190_1 » 16 Jan 2014, 16:21

My question was misunderstood or I am more confused than ever.

Hoverlock On: You take your hands off the controls or tablet and/or the controls are zeroed/or no input and the Drone hovers in place.
How does the Drone react with Hoverlock Off?

In the case sited in my posting "so that the drone glides smoothly to a halt". Does this mean that the Drone still hovers in place; but the Drone does so in a more controlled smooth manner? Is this the difference between On and Off in AR.Drone 2.0?

What is the difference between the Emergency button and the Safety Button Dead Man's switch? Is this switch still an option?

pki79
Ready for take off
Posts: 38
Joined: 29 Dec 2013, 00:38
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: Poland/kaszebe
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0
Contact:

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by pki79 » 16 Jan 2014, 17:21

Emergency does shut off the engines.

Dead man switch is the button on the left you need to press to start the controls working.

With hover lock off the drone will theoretically hold in plase but will drifft off by:
- the wind
- propellers, gears, engines differences
- trim tolerance.

With hover lock on the drone will lock the position by the down facing camera and gps (if installed)

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.0 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 16 Jan 2014, 19:07

No hoverlock is similar to a traditional proportional pitch heli in control responses. There is no self-correction performed.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

jakesteam1953
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jan 2014, 16:48
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by jakesteam1953 » 19 Jan 2014, 16:52

New here to the AR.Pro but very interested to learn all the options and abilities. I have the AR Drone 2 with the flight recorder and use Qgroundcontrol for my autonomous flights. Can that be done with the AR.Pro app? I was able to place some waypoints but was not sure how to activate the flight. And before I press the flight button I wanted to ask a few questions.

Thanks once again

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 19 Jan 2014, 19:05

You must stay within WiFi range with AR.Pro

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

jakesteam1953
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 19 Jan 2014, 16:48
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by jakesteam1953 » 20 Jan 2014, 00:24

Thank you, I thought that might be the case, but wanted to be sure.

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 20 Jan 2014, 00:57

Any time!

Code: Select all

$ 2.1.2.10
  % Version 2.1.2.10
  _ 2013-01-19
  ! Flight Recorder Enhancements & MOGA Support
  	* Base altitude off of FR when connected (defaults to off)
  	* Guided Mode speed selection (conservative/aggressive)
  	* Native MOGA gamepad support (HID mode was already mostly functional)
  	* Fixed Sliding Options record click crash on Honeycomb & ICS (4.0) devices
  	* Fixed crash condition when answering yes to take off from waypoint action bar button
  	* Force Maneuver to run on UI thread (trying to fix x86 android bug)
  	* Fixed ChangeLog top title being cut on kitkat
  	* Themed Map View Options Dialog
  	* TODO: Finish up POIs and Pointing Nose
  	* TODO: base bearing to origin off of lon/lat when FR connected
    * TODO: Fix auto USB download when GPS connected
	* TODO: Custom Maneuvers

RemcoZ
Just flips over
Posts: 64
Joined: 06 Jan 2014, 15:48
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by RemcoZ » 25 Jan 2014, 16:45

Hi Shelldude I tried the app today for the first time and it seems a bit buggy... can it be my device? I use a S4 but i was experiencing shutdowns and app freezes especially when setting waypoints so i almost lost my drone lol. also the compas was very buggy and not pointing anywhere near my heading or lift off point, and yes i tried calibrating multiple times. also the zoom level of the map is not very detailed. I tried zooming in as far as possible in google maps and make it off line available but in AR pro the zoom level doesn't come anywhere near that. I also tried different zoom levels in between but it's always too far out to set any normal waypoint is this normal?

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -<>- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 25 Jan 2014, 17:56

I've had a helluva time with S4s. I don't have one myself so it makes it even harder to support. Samsung did something real wonky with their carrier version of it. I believe the play edition works fine.

Also if it is crashing it should also be giving you an opportunity to generate and send me a crash report.

I've received one crash report this week... It was a native crash and came from an HTC One X.

Native crashes are the worst as they happen in the parrot library and are next to impossible to trap.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: AR.Pro 2.1 -- Full V1 & V2 Drone Support

Post by ShellDude » 25 Jan 2014, 18:00

Regarding map resolution try caching from Google maps at about twice the zoomed out level for the area you want to capture.

First time back in AR.Pro (you need to open maps thru AR.Pro preferences) zoom as deep as you can and back out. I'm waiting for Google to give me more control over the caching without having to write a bunch of crazy code to work around it.

Going thru this dance has guaranteed good absolute zoom tiles for me quite consistently across my 7 test devices and you don't have to do it all that often if you always fly in the same area.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests