Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Moderator: ShellDude

baadabing
Ready for take off
Posts: 24
Joined: 26 Dec 2013, 23:23
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by baadabing » 02 Jan 2014, 21:27

I understand the Nvidia Shield is cross marketed with the AR Drone v2. The Shield has two WiFi antennas behind the screen, I wonder if they are directional?

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 03 Jan 2014, 04:14

FEJennings wrote:Hi, I saw some posts regarding the Nvidia Shield. I was wondering if this was supported,

Thanks,
Frank
A number of folks are using it with AR.Pro, yup.

Peterrv12
Ready for take off
Posts: 15
Joined: 29 Dec 2013, 05:52
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by Peterrv12 » 03 Jan 2014, 04:53

The Shield is supported, I am still testing it as I am having some issues but probably not relayed to the Shield

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 06 Jan 2014, 14:38

Peterrv12 wrote:The Shield is supported, I am still testing it as I am having some issues but probably not relayed to the Shield
Anything I can help with?


Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

FEJennings
Ready for take off
Posts: 10
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 19:32
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by FEJennings » 06 Jan 2014, 15:28

Thanks for the replies. Nothing to help with at this point. I got an initial error regarding the ephemeris file when trying to connect to the drone, but I need to capture the exact error when I give it another attempt. Weather has either not been very cooperative or well beyond "cold".

g000m
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 04 Jan 2014, 04:15
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by g000m » 07 Jan 2014, 22:13

Is PS3 controller support via bluetooth? Will other bluetooth controllers work with AR.Pro?

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 07 Jan 2014, 23:28

Yup... So long as they map to the standard keymap they will work fine.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 09 Jan 2014, 18:48

Last night I started recording some snippits for this. I will be providing a voice overlay for this video so it is a little more involved than some of my other demos.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

quadricopter
Ready for take off
Posts: 22
Joined: 12 Mar 2013, 18:20
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: Sarasota, Fl.
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by quadricopter » 10 Jan 2014, 01:28

Understood, & thanks much, Shell. Your Da Man!

What would some of us do without some of the guys like yourself, always giving their support.

Regards,

baadabing
Ready for take off
Posts: 24
Joined: 26 Dec 2013, 23:23
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by baadabing » 15 Jan 2014, 21:21

ShellDude wrote:...

Anything I can help with?
...
Absolute control doesn't work on the Nvidia Shield; there's no internal magnetic compass. Is there a work-around?

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 16 Jan 2014, 01:46

Don't use absolute control? Hardware profile is part of the Android build. With that hardware capability missing there is very likely zero provisions for it in the compiled framework.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 18 Jan 2014, 20:42

Moga has provided me an evaluation of their Pro Power controller and I am in the process of implementing "native" support for it. Last night I was able to validate connectivity using it in HID mode. Updates will be provided as I progress further.
MOGA-Pro.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Jayson Hanes
Spying is fun
Posts: 666
Joined: 23 May 2013, 14:42
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by Jayson Hanes » 18 Jan 2014, 20:51

hmm.. I have owned one of these controllers since they came out last summer.. maybe it's because I'm rooted, but, it works fine on AR.Pro (b mode, I guess that is HID).. I just seem to experience some kind of interference or loss of performance with it, since it's BT.. I always go back to my wired logitech controller (ps3 clone).. which again, I guess it "just works" and always has without any other software because I am rooted.. I really don't remember, lol..

ShellDude
Batterys getting low
Posts: 957
Joined: 04 Jan 2011, 20:10
Drone Type: Bebop
Location: Philadelphia, PA USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by ShellDude » 19 Jan 2014, 00:18

Jayson Hanes wrote:hmm.. I have owned one of these controllers since they came out last summer.. maybe it's because I'm rooted, but, it works fine on AR.Pro (b mode, I guess that is HID).. I just seem to experience some kind of interference or loss of performance with it, since it's BT.. I always go back to my wired logitech controller (ps3 clone).. which again, I guess it "just works" and always has without any other software because I am rooted.. I really don't remember, lol..
I have to say I'm not all that impressed at this point over my wired PS3 connection. The library they provide certainly makes it easy for "legacy" connectivity but I have some concerns over BT/WiFi interoperability and am totally annoyed there's no mount / option for any of my tablets.

Beyond that initial setup was pretty straightforward and I have it now working in both mode A and mode B. Since they were so nice to send me an eval unit out of the blue I'm inclined to provide support for it as it does work. A couple more tweaks within Preferences and Mode A will be 100%.

Jayson Hanes
Spying is fun
Posts: 666
Joined: 23 May 2013, 14:42
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: Tampa, FL USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Looking for AR.Pro external controller support?

Post by Jayson Hanes » 19 Jan 2014, 01:26

what will support for A mode on the mogapro do for us?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests