ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Moderator: shawnf

3nslav3
Batterys getting low
Posts: 908
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 13:34
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by 3nslav3 » 03 Apr 2013, 12:14

its for the automatic license check ;-)

jmrdrone
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 23:13
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by jmrdrone » 03 Apr 2013, 13:05

3nslav3 wrote:its for the automatic license check ;-)
I have had the situation where a previously-working Pro won't show the launch button without a license refresh, but I have been far from home without wifi. Is there anyway to prevent this from happening?

User avatar
garrock
I've been hit!!
Posts: 2089
Joined: 01 Sep 2012, 16:14
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: USA - Portsmouth, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by garrock » 03 Apr 2013, 14:59

3nslav3 wrote:its for the automatic license check ;-)
Can a clear explanation be given why a License Check is necessary in the first place ?

I have never used any other Android App that requires doing this. So, what is up with this check ??

What kind of information is being handed over with this License Check?
AND.. is there any kind of usage data being occasionally uploaded out of your device in the background ?????
DroneMod.com --- Worlds first two-drone system: Repeater-Helper and Camera-Worker drones ! --- http://www.REDbirdRF.com

3nslav3
Batterys getting low
Posts: 908
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 13:34
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by 3nslav3 » 03 Apr 2013, 15:23

screencast, gameloft games, payed angry birds, payed GPS apps, EA games etc etc etc etc all do license checks ;)

ARDFPRO apk files have already been leaked, pirated and are free to download all over the place (checked myself)

no usage data or whatever, all it does is talk to the play store, nothing more

User avatar
garrock
I've been hit!!
Posts: 2089
Joined: 01 Sep 2012, 16:14
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Location: USA - Portsmouth, Ohio
Contact:

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by garrock » 03 Apr 2013, 15:36

Ok.. that is good to know and a challenge for shawnf I am sure.

It is good for him that he is always fixing bugs and adding features.
That is a core strategy to reduce the value of any possible hacked/pirated APK file copies.
DroneMod.com --- Worlds first two-drone system: Repeater-Helper and Camera-Worker drones ! --- http://www.REDbirdRF.com

jmrdrone
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 23:13
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by jmrdrone » 03 Apr 2013, 15:43

3nslav3 wrote:screencast, gameloft games, payed angry birds, payed GPS apps, EA games etc etc etc etc all do license checks ;)

ARDFPRO apk files have already been leaked, pirated and are free to download all over the place (checked myself)

no usage data or whatever, all it does is talk to the play store, nothing more

How often is the license status checked, and is there a way to avoid it happening out in the field, away from the internet?

3nslav3
Batterys getting low
Posts: 908
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 13:34
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by 3nslav3 » 03 Apr 2013, 16:34

I've heard that the license check code is from google itself but it uses the least agressive setting.

should be every 1.5 weeks I think but it happens completely random

shawnf
Chased the cat
Posts: 413
Joined: 04 Mar 2011, 11:42

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by shawnf » 03 Apr 2013, 16:47

Yep - up to Google.
Of course if Google came up with a way of actually protecting APKs to stop the evil thieving cheapskates, then it wouldn't be required at all.

Never ceases to amaze me the people that pay $300 for a drone and then bitch and moan about a few $, when they probably pay more for a cup of coffee... so then they go and get a pirate version?
I wonder which takes more time and effort to a create? Hint - it's not the coffee ;)

jmrdrone
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 23:13
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by jmrdrone » 03 Apr 2013, 17:12

Well, I paid for Pro and find it very frustrating if the license check prevents me from using it in the field.

3nslav3
Batterys getting low
Posts: 908
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 13:34
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by 3nslav3 » 03 Apr 2013, 17:23

if there is so little internet then it might be a good idea to do a manual check before you head out to the field ;)

the check will never be removed unless google finds an offline way to protect apps from pirates

shawnf
Chased the cat
Posts: 413
Joined: 04 Mar 2011, 11:42

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by shawnf » 03 Apr 2013, 17:24

Complain to Google then, as nothing I can do about it... I've done the best I can to minimise the impact.
The best suggestion is to make sure you have your device connected to the internet regularly, as Google checks are online of course...

jmrdrone
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Mar 2013, 23:13
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by jmrdrone » 03 Apr 2013, 18:40

My tablet (Nexus 7) is on the internet 90% of the time, it is just when traveling or when out trying to fly the drone that I am off the net. It would be nice if it could automatically refresh the license when I am connected.

Simon
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 15 Jan 2013, 21:20
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by Simon » 03 Apr 2013, 18:43

You should completely re-design the app so it looks like AR.FreeFlight. If you download their SDK you'll get all assets etc.

3nslav3
Batterys getting low
Posts: 908
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 13:34
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by 3nslav3 » 03 Apr 2013, 18:48

have you checked their android sdk? its a joke ;-) why arent there any more apps for the android platform? the answer is in the sdk

User avatar
DBS
I've been hit!!
Posts: 2764
Joined: 15 May 2012, 16:27
Drone Type: DISCO
Location: Treasure Coast, Florida
Contact:

Re: ARDrone Flight Pro = ARDrone Flight + Platinum Features

Post by DBS » 04 Apr 2013, 23:34

#1... Why the hell would anybody want it to look like freeflight?? Looks like it's sponsored by The Home Depot :lol:

#2... I get the licence check popup all the time on my Nexus 7... But my launch button still works if I give it a few seconds...

*watch out for cache clearing apps... Things that are supposed to make your device run smoother... And many task killers ... They clear the cache in many apps (unless you exclude them) and that removes the data needed to verify license* (some rebooters do that also on rooted devices)
WORLD RECORD Phantom 4 flight CLICK HERE
WORLD RECORD Matrice 600 flight CLICK HERE

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests