Login to disable ads!

3G Modem modification

Router, repeater (extender), GPS unit, antenna, tablet, FPV goggle, HD battery, charger, carrying case... etc.
smokeyb111
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Sep 2010, 19:21
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

3G Modem modification

Post by smokeyb111 » 05 Sep 2010, 19:31

I got directed here to this website from the parrot forums.

I've been wonderin about using a 3G modem, maybe via USB since the drone has a USB slot. How would u bypass the functions being transmitted via wifi and instead use the 3G modem?

I want to make this my first step into a real modification on somethin. Any assistance I can get, or even point me in the right direction for info. Anythig would help.

User avatar
slider
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Aug 2010, 14:06
Location: North Devon
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by slider » 05 Sep 2010, 19:57

The guy behind this shizzle is a good place to start!

http://translate.googleusercontent.com/ ... kIF1vkp8Hg

smokeyb111
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Sep 2010, 19:21
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by smokeyb111 » 05 Sep 2010, 20:37

Cool. But if the flight controller already installed on the iphone is "good", maybe the easiest thing would be to bypass the ethernet interface and utilize a 3G USB modem instead...

is the ethernet interface accessible on the ar drone in the SDK?

Possible?

How would I go about it?

tlrobinson
Newcomer
Posts: 2
Joined: 10 Sep 2010, 00:36
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by tlrobinson » 10 Sep 2010, 00:37

How about one of those Sprint Overdrive/MiFi things. It has WiFi, 3G (and 4G), and even GPS.

If you can hack either the Overdrive/MiFi or AR.Drone firmware you could set something up.

smokeyb111
Battery Charged
Posts: 6
Joined: 05 Sep 2010, 19:21
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by smokeyb111 » 10 Sep 2010, 02:39

I have considered that too. I've come to realize that 4G is the best way to go, but I'm not in a 4G area.

I want to see this hack one day though.

auren22
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: 11 Oct 2010, 06:21
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by auren22 » 11 Oct 2010, 06:26

That would be incredible,,to have the Drone with a cellphone chip or 3g reciever and this way it could fly for miles with no limits as long as there is 3g coverage..

Im sure someone can create this,

Symon
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: 18 Aug 2010, 21:45
Drone Type: Jumping Sumo
Location: Southampton, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by Symon » 11 Oct 2010, 07:25

It won't fly for miles, the power needed to do that would mean a battery so big and heavy it would be grounded.

jstefanop
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Oct 2010, 19:23
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by jstefanop » 15 Oct 2010, 19:38

Symon wrote:It won't fly for miles, the power needed to do that would mean a battery so big and heavy it would be grounded.
You would be surprised. If range was not a limit (which it would not be with a 3G modem) and a 1500 mah battery would gain you about 20 min of flight time. The drone can travel about 20 mph, so you could theoretically travel a total of over 6 miles. So you could go as far away as 3 miles and have enough juice to come back.

I have started to look into this myself, as long as I can get the modem drivers running on the drone its relatively straight forward to switch the communication system from the wifi chip to the external 3G. All you would have to do then is enter the IP address of the drone onto the modified app and your connected.

mf25053
Just flips over
Posts: 98
Joined: 14 Sep 2010, 20:21
Location: motown
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by mf25053 » 15 Oct 2010, 20:47

3g and even 4g are going to have the same issue of lag.

as you'd be flying by pure camera once out of visual range of the drone, this would make flying it very difficult if not impossible

and I realize 3g and 4g have good data transfer rates. BUT they also have QOS features, which prioritizes voice over data the way a VOIP phone system (when correctly configured) works. voice information must be in a constant stream, where as data can be delayed and reassembled on the other end. that would happen to the drone's flight controls as well as the video stream.

I'm also betting the USB port isn't an accessory port, it's more than likely for internal diagnostics or factory installs of software / firmware. those type of setups usually are only for that purpose.

Symon
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: 18 Aug 2010, 21:45
Drone Type: Jumping Sumo
Location: Southampton, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by Symon » 15 Oct 2010, 21:55

20 minutes on a 1500 mAh, that's great if your indoors and very cold and not taking any factors about wind, also any electronic components that when get's warm becomes less efficient, then that's not including any additional weight from a 3G modem strapped to the hull which again would decrease lifetime and if the 3G modem was using the AR Drones battery it would be less again.
Additionally adding weight and drag and wind factors into the equation will make the motors use more power than stock.

These are not military devices nor as big as them, the military can throw $$$ at them and increase laden weight and add additional power when needed.

Adding a 3G/4G modem is just way over ambitious for the AR Drone. It's not feasible.

mf25053
Just flips over
Posts: 98
Joined: 14 Sep 2010, 20:21
Location: motown
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by mf25053 » 15 Oct 2010, 23:07

I also didn't think about the price of the data plan required to do this... something about bending over and a sand paper condom comes to mind here.


wifi on the other hand is FREE for this application.

Symon
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: 18 Aug 2010, 21:45
Drone Type: Jumping Sumo
Location: Southampton, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by Symon » 15 Oct 2010, 23:13

something about bending over and a sand paper condom comes to mind here.

LMFAO, you crack me up. I am lovin the dry humor.

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by MAPGPS » 03 Nov 2010, 15:21

I'm trying to attach a USB 3G Modem onto AR.Drone.

AR.Drone comes with USB OTG, and default as USB Device mode.
There is no ID Pin derivated.
I have to hack AR.Drone at software level and let it works in USB Host mode as default.

After that, you can attach any USB devices as you want!

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by MAPGPS » 09 Nov 2010, 12:42

From another post, heard jstefanop has already connected a 3G modem to the AR.Drone via the USB port.

jstefanop,
Could you share the details here?
This could save my effort:)

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: 3G Modem modification

Post by MAPGPS » 10 Nov 2010, 18:19

I tried to re-build the AR.Drone Linux kernel with USB OTG driver module enabled.
FTP the module dwc_otg.ko onto AR.Drone, and load the module.

Code: Select all

# uname -a
Linux myhost 2.6.27.47-parrot-01227-g93dde09 #1 PREEMPT Fri Jul 2 15:23:06 CEST
2010 armv5tejl GNU/Linux
# pwd
/data
# ls -l *.ko
-rw-r--r--    1 root     root      1020550 Jan  1 00:51 dwc_otg.ko
# insmod ./dwc_otg.ko
# dmesg
...
[ 3118.627164] dwc_otg: version 2.70a-parrot 22/03/2009
[ 3118.627335] dwc_otg dwc_otg.0: dwc_otg_driver_probe(c0357578)
[ 3118.627366] dwc_otg dwc_otg.0: start=0xc0400000
[ 3118.627481] dwc_otg dwc_otg.0: base=0xc8e00000
[ 3118.627514] dwc_otg dwc_otg.0: specific configuration
[ 3118.627545] gpio 0 is not selected.
[ 3118.627556] Please do it in your board code
[ 3118.627576] not auto selecting this critical pin
[ 3119.131878] dwc_otg dwc_otg.0: dwc_otg_device=0xc7a424e0
[ 3119.140222] DWC_otg: dwc_otg_core_reset() HANG! Soft Reset GRSTCTL=80000001
[ 3119.140265] DWC_otg: dwc_otg_core_reset() HANG! AHB Idle GRSTCTL=80000001
[ 3119.153143] DWC_otg: dwc_otg_core_reset() HANG! Soft Reset GRSTCTL=80000001
[ 3119.153185] DWC_otg: dwc_otg_core_reset() HANG! AHB Idle GRSTCTL=80000001
[ 3119.153229] DWC_otg: Dedicated Tx FIFOs mode

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests