Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Router, repeater (extender), GPS unit, antenna, tablet, FPV goggle, HD battery, charger, carrying case... etc.
User avatar
rcpilot
Chased the cat
Posts: 354
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 06:22
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by rcpilot » 02 Jun 2012, 14:52

Buy a 5V Bec from your local hobby store


about $15 for a good one

and power it with a 2S lipo

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 02 Jun 2012, 19:01

Well as a test I purchased this repeater
EnGenius ERB-9250, 300Mbps Wireless N Range Expander
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=042798" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I set it up very easily.
You turn on the wifi on the drone
Turn on the extender and plug it into your computer
Go to the network address for the repeater
Scan for the ssid.
Connect

It will clone your connection.

When it is active you connect to a network with the same ssid as your drone.

My question is, ow do you know if you are connecting to the extender or to the drone?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by groan on 09 Jun 2012, 00:26, edited 1 time in total.

mr.slowly
Ready for take off
Posts: 26
Joined: 04 May 2012, 23:38

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by mr.slowly » 02 Jun 2012, 19:32

rcpilot wrote:Buy a 5V Bec from your local hobby store


about $15 for a good one

and power it with a 2S lipo
Thank you. Will look into that.

User avatar
rcpilot
Chased the cat
Posts: 354
Joined: 18 Oct 2010, 06:22
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by rcpilot » 03 Jun 2012, 00:50

Hmm you might have a problem then.

My Linksys uses a different SSID so I know I am connected to the router and not the drone.

In the wifi repeater section you input the router's SSID (the drones) which is different to the actual repeater.
groan wrote:Well as a test I purchased this repeater
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=042798" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I set it up very easily.
You turn on the wifi on the drone
Turn on the extender and plug it into your computer
Go to the network address for the repeater
Scan for the ssid.
Connect

It will clone your connection.

When it is active you connect to a network with the same ssid as your drone.

My question is, ow do you know if you are connecting to the extender or to the drone?

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 03 Jun 2012, 03:39

Perhaps. I'll have to see if there is a way to make the repeater brodcast a differnt name. I'll contact EnGenius about it.

I did some test flights.

This first one was just he Drone to Phone, no repeater.
I got about 10 meters. Not a good connection. I assume the phone was not a good client.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gvHWivkfAo4" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

This next video I had my son carry the drone out as far as my signal would handle it. It sent out about 80 meters. so 30 meters past the Drone's reported range. Sorry for the shakyness.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-A77ey2h6F0" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

This one I carried the drone out with my phone to test the range I could walk from the repeater and maintain a signal. it was about 30 meters.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1vY80LvlY6Q" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Finally this last one I sent the drone out from my back gate out as far as I could. In sent my son out to follow as an escort in case of trouble. I got out 80 meters and stopped as the video started to cut out.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQRgR42NbME" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


All in all I am happy with the result. I will investigate the naming of the signal from the repeater. I may have misread a section that may have allowed me to do this.

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 03 Jun 2012, 16:01

rcpilot wrote:Hmm you might have a problem then.

My Linksys uses a different SSID so I know I am connected to the router and not the drone.

In the wifi repeater section you input the router's SSID (the drones) which is different to the actual repeater.
groan wrote:Well as a test I purchased this repeater
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=042798" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I set it up very easily.
You turn on the wifi on the drone
Turn on the extender and plug it into your computer
Go to the network address for the repeater
Scan for the ssid.
Connect

It will clone your connection.

When it is active you connect to a network with the same ssid as your drone.

My question is, ow do you know if you are connecting to the extender or to the drone?

I searched the instruction manuals of a few repeaters and could not find any that allow you to have a different ssid than the one that is being repeated.
Does the sr10000 or 300 allow this? Perhaps you can do it because you are using a converted router.

At any rate, according to my tests I am connecting to the extender. I've just got no way to be sure.
I was hoping that I could set encryption on the repeater which would then show me two ssids. One with encryption and one without. I set this up but it did not work because it is trying to pass that encryption on to the drone connection, which it does not have.
I've emailed the company to see if there is a way around it.

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 03 Jun 2012, 16:46

rcpilot wrote:Buy a 5V Bec from your local hobby store


about $15 for a good one

and power it with a 2S lipo
Hey rcpilot,
Would you have more info about this? I called the local HS and he seemed to know what I wanted to do but was not able to tell me how to go about it. You seem to know what to do.
Can you point me to a guide or maybe start a new thread how to do it? :-)
I'll continue to look around for info but most of what I am finding is used for powering stuff like lights or cameras on a plane/car etc.

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 03 Jun 2012, 17:06

OK, found a way to differentiate between the signals.
On my Android tablet I use WiFi Analyzer. The repeater has the MAC address on it and I can identify it as you can see in the attached image.
The stronger signal is the repeater.
YAY!

I may eventually get the Amped sr300 but this will do nicely for now.

Image

User avatar
eballesq
Up and hovering
Posts: 131
Joined: 24 Feb 2012, 11:27

Re: Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by eballesq » 04 Jun 2012, 11:55

groan wrote:
rcpilot wrote:Hmm you might have a problem then.

My Linksys uses a different SSID so I know I am connected to the router and not the drone.

In the wifi repeater section you input the router's SSID (the drones) which is different to the actual repeater.
groan wrote:Well as a test I purchased this repeater
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=042798" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I set it up very easily.
You turn on the wifi on the drone
Turn on the extender and plug it into your computer
Go to the network address for the repeater
Scan for the ssid.
Connect

It will clone your connection.

When it is active you connect to a network with the same ssid as your drone.

My question is, ow do you know if you are connecting to the extender or to the drone?

I searched the instruction manuals of a few repeaters and could not find any that allow you to have a different ssid than the one that is being repeated.
Does the sr10000 or 300 allow this? Perhaps you can do it because you are using a converted router.
During setup of the SR10000 you rename the repeater's network (SSID) and instruct it to connect to the Drone's network by default.

On your iDevice, you connect to the repeater's SSID, not the Drone's. That's it.

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 04 Jun 2012, 12:03

Thanks. If I find the range too short or my new way of connecting too cumbersome I'll look for a sr300 or 10000.

jarettp
Just flips over
Posts: 60
Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 16:34

Re: Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by jarettp » 04 Jun 2012, 18:57

groan wrote:
rcpilot wrote:Hmm you might have a problem then.

My Linksys uses a different SSID so I know I am connected to the router and not the drone.

In the wifi repeater section you input the router's SSID (the drones) which is different to the actual repeater.
groan wrote:Well as a test I purchased this repeater
http://www.canadacomputers.com/product_ ... _id=042798" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

I set it up very easily.
You turn on the wifi on the drone
Turn on the extender and plug it into your computer
Go to the network address for the repeater
Scan for the ssid.
Connect

It will clone your connection.

When it is active you connect to a network with the same ssid as your drone.

My question is, ow do you know if you are connecting to the extender or to the drone?

I searched the instruction manuals of a few repeaters and could not find any that allow you to have a different ssid than the one that is being repeated.
Does the sr10000 or 300 allow this? Perhaps you can do it because you are using a converted router.

At any rate, according to my tests I am connecting to the extender. I've just got no way to be sure.
I was hoping that I could set encryption on the repeater which would then show me two ssids. One with encryption and one without. I set this up but it did not work because it is trying to pass that encryption on to the drone connection, which it does not have.
I've emailed the company to see if there is a way around it.
yea both the sr300 and sr10000 create a separate network. honestly i think the setup was about as easy as it could get for the sr10000 and the range is amazing. check out the mods forum for a thread dedicated to it.

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 04 Jun 2012, 20:02

I've read through many of them, and recently found where someone actually steps through the process of setting up the SR300 and I saw it mentions that you name the connection coming form the SR.

So far I think the 80 meter range will be good enough for my entertainment purposes. I didn't try it with my Tablet but will and see how far I can get. I'm a little afraid to test height, but will test across the field.

User avatar
The AGENT
Ready for take off
Posts: 25
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 18:15
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by The AGENT » 08 Jun 2012, 19:43

Tell me please, is there enough Router TP-LINK TL-WA5110G 54M High Power Wireless Access Point 26dBm (400mw) for 720p video?

groan
Up and hovering
Posts: 128
Joined: 10 May 2012, 00:08

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by groan » 08 Jun 2012, 20:40

The AGENT wrote:Tell me please, is there enough Router TP-LINK TL-WA5110G 54M High Power Wireless Access Point 26dBm (400mw) for 720p video?
I don't know how that one compares to the one I use but the EnGenius ERB-9250 does 300 MBPS (optimal) and gives me great video. This goes out 80 meters with my Samsung phone the router is right behind me sitting on my shed..
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mQRgR42NbME" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

User avatar
The AGENT
Ready for take off
Posts: 25
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 18:15
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Wifi Repeater to boost the range

Post by The AGENT » 09 Jun 2012, 13:57

TP-Link TL-WR941ND or TP-LINK TL-WA5110G
20dBM vs 26 dBM
300mbs vs 54mbs
3x3dBi vs 1x4dBi

Help me for choise please!))

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests