Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Router, repeater (extender), GPS unit, antenna, tablet, FPV goggle, HD battery, charger, carrying case... etc.
menace
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 May 2012, 01:20

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by menace » 26 May 2012, 12:09

Hi, Just to clarify, is the drone2.0 a B+G+N device or is it N only? I'm trying to setup a modded wrt54g with ddwrt and I can see the drone2.0, can ping the drone 2.0, but can't communicate through freeflight. Does the Sr300 report which mode its connecting in?

Rawd
Ready for take off
Posts: 25
Joined: 30 May 2012, 03:21

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Rawd » 01 Jun 2012, 23:07

I see they are now offering an SR20000. It still claims the same 10,000 square foot coverage.

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Amped+Wirel ... Id=5471152" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

ziggy95
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Mar 2012, 07:49

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by ziggy95 » 03 Jun 2012, 00:55

I have a big big problem.
I connect ardrone to sr10000 but cant use pilot button from freeflight application, no wifi available.
Then i decide to stop sr10000 and now , ardrone wifi is not available.

I tried reset, nothing better.
It is original firmware.

It's look like it is bricked but i did'nt modify firmware

help !!!!

ziggy95
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Mar 2012, 07:49

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by ziggy95 » 03 Jun 2012, 01:14

Finally, i replace with original battery and wifi works now.
I tried evrything with turnigy battery and nothing works, deconnect battery, reset etc...

STRANGE !!!

I will retry sr10000 tomorrow

ziggy95
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Mar 2012, 07:49

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by ziggy95 » 03 Jun 2012, 17:53

I test sr10000 today. Was not working then i reset, new setup (seems the same^^) and now works with ar drone.
Will do next week test in a big area.

wilder54
Ready for take off
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2012, 01:46

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by wilder54 » 03 Jun 2012, 18:16

You do know you got to have the drone on first with the green lights showing on the bottom before you turn on the repeater.

ziggy95
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 30 Mar 2012, 07:49

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by ziggy95 » 03 Jun 2012, 20:55

Yes, i have followed your instructions for this point.

User avatar
Markus Unread
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Aug 2011, 08:38
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Markus Unread » 12 Jun 2012, 06:06

Wow! Thanks, wilder54, for carrying this on!
Sorry for the long absence. Work, work work.

Mu

wilder54
Ready for take off
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2012, 01:46

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by wilder54 » 12 Jun 2012, 12:24

Thanks , but the credit is all to you markus. If only we got a commission for each one we helped sell. :)

User avatar
Markus Unread
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Aug 2011, 08:38
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Markus Unread » 17 Jun 2012, 23:34

Since there have been questions about the battery on the repeater, here are some details that may help.

1) "Are you using a battery pack with the same power ratings as what I require ? Ie. 12 VDC, 1 A ?"
No. I am using, primarily, an 11.1V LiPo battery. The Amped Wireless unit has a switch-mode power supply that works well with a 7.4V battery as well. I would stick with an 11.1V battery because it is the same voltage battery as the ARdrone.

2-3) "Do you have recommendations on where I can get a battery pack with the above power ratings ?"
I got my battery from Hobbyking. I got this bag of adapters to make their batteries connect to the ARdrone.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... _bag_.html
Any 11.1V LiPo battery will work. For example, this one -
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__ ... P_20C.html
This battery has the following connectors:
Balance Plug: JST-XH
Discharge plug: XT60

I have a programmable LiPo charger, but it is probable that the charger that came with the ARdrone would be able to charge the 1800mA pack as well. It would take at least twice as long as the ARdrone battery.

4) "The battery pack also requires a matching power jack. How did you get the right power jack ?"
The adapter pack, above, has three adapters. I cut one of the adapters and used the yellow battery-side connector and spliced it to a male "barrel" power plug that matches the Wifi extender's power input jack. Be careful to make absolutely sure that you get the polarity right when you solder the adapter together!

I made an assumption that the people using an extender would also have multiple LiPo packs and chargers. That was a bad assumption on my part.

knoxploration
Chased the cat
Posts: 439
Joined: 26 Dec 2011, 23:08
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by knoxploration » 18 Jun 2012, 21:19

Markus Unread wrote:2-3) "Do you have recommendations on where I can get a battery pack with the above power ratings ?"
I got my battery from Hobbyking. I got this bag of adapters to make their batteries connect to the ARdrone.
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... _bag_.html
Any 11.1V LiPo battery will work. For example, this one -
http://hobbyking.com/hobbyking/store/__ ... P_20C.html
This battery has the following connectors:
Balance Plug: JST-XH
Discharge plug: XT60

I have a programmable LiPo charger, but it is probable that the charger that came with the ARdrone would be able to charge the 1800mA pack as well. It would take at least twice as long as the ARdrone battery.
Friends don't let friends shop at Hobbyking. They provide absolutely zero support for their products, take weeks to respond to any contact including their own trouble ticket system (if they ever even respond at all--filed a dispute against them with Paypal and they never even bothered to answer the dispute), and expect you to pay return, international, trackable shipping on products that were faulty when they left the factory, even when that shipping cost is essentially nearly the price of the new product.

I cannot stress this enough: unless you like flushing money down the toilet, do not do business with Hobbyking.

User avatar
Markus Unread
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 23 Aug 2011, 08:38
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Silicon Valley, CA
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Markus Unread » 21 Jun 2012, 06:21

You know that they have a USA warehouse now?

Anyway, feel free to post the batteries and connectors that you use!

knoxploration
Chased the cat
Posts: 439
Joined: 26 Dec 2011, 23:08
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Knoxville, Tennessee

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by knoxploration » 23 Jun 2012, 19:42

Markus Unread wrote:You know that they have a USA warehouse now?

Anyway, feel free to post the batteries and connectors that you use!
Yes, I am well aware of that. I specifically requested to be allowed to return the DOA product that they sent me to their US warehouse; they didn't even answer that, just told me to send it with insured, trackable shipping to Asia and that they would look at it when they received it, then decide whether or not they'd even give me a refund.

User avatar
BillyBag2
Just flips over
Posts: 74
Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 16:07
Drone Type: AR.Drone
Location: Cheltenham

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by BillyBag2 » 25 Jun 2012, 11:55


User avatar
The AGENT
Ready for take off
Posts: 25
Joined: 05 Jun 2012, 18:15
Location: Russia/Moscow

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped SR10000

Post by The AGENT » 02 Jul 2012, 19:03

I received Amped SR10000, made all the settings as in the first post of this topic but Drone is flying did not further 20m - losing signal (((

We also note that when connected to wi-fi shows and the "old" network ardrone2_ 000274 - is this the way it should be?
Image
Once set up the repeater, the signal Dron was low.
Image
There is nowhere to change the settings do not need?
Image
I have the impression that I have a defective Drone((((((((

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests