Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Questions and answers about Bebop, Bebop 2 and the Parrot Skycontroller.
Post Reply
Arcill
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 May 2018, 03:29
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by Arcill » 16 Jun 2018, 19:46

I have two identical Bebops, same firmware, same software ....

One will lock the GPS, the other will not .. have read all the forums info, cleaned it up checked connections, etc. still will not lock?

Any ideas? Please help ...

Thank you

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1248
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by AR.Tommy » 17 Jun 2018, 09:29

Hello,

first GPS fix can literally take forever (15 min) how long did you wait?
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

Arcill
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 May 2018, 03:29
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by Arcill » 17 Jun 2018, 20:30

Until the battery died .....

So here are two screen caps from the two BBs.... see the difference?? How do I fix this??
ANY help is welcome!

Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tsarkoff
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 20 Jan 2017, 10:22
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by Tsarkoff » 18 Jun 2018, 23:03

GPS lock never took longer than 1 minute to me. But when I updated to the latest firmware (4.7.1, BB2) It started failing to get GPS and failing to magnetometer calibration. Several times magnetometer got uncalibrated during flight which led to the loss of GPS lock. Once it even fell down. Hard reset helped to solve the issue. Maybe you should do that. Press the power button for more than 8 seconds then wait until drone gets everything done. And reboot. Make sure you calibrate your done each time you plug a battery in.

Arcill
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 May 2018, 03:29
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by Arcill » 19 Jun 2018, 21:09

Thank you for answering, but I still NEED a solution.

One of my Bebops locks right away, and the other does not at all. See previous post. This seems to be a common situation. I am hoping that Parrot may have a solution for this.

If anyone else HAS SOLVED this problem, PLEASE share a solution.

Thank you

jlsautto
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: 25 Jun 2018, 20:56
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by jlsautto » 25 Jun 2018, 21:12

it happens exactly the same, to me I even lost it .
So the hard reset will solved it?
Because I found it, and it doesn’t gets the GPS, and on the distance displays shows a ? .
I Did the 4.7.1 upgrade

Arcill
Newcomer
Posts: 4
Joined: 31 May 2018, 03:29
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by Arcill » 26 Jun 2018, 19:17

No. There is NO SOLUTION.

Parrot suggested replacing the GPS module. Waiting for replacement. No THEY did not pay for it!

Will let you know ...

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by larry31 » 14 Oct 2018, 03:15

My Bebop 2 is not displaying distance, and elevation. The GPS icon never goes green. I did have it working until the V-4.7.1 update.
Parrot service says their engineers are working on it. Seems like this product is just not engineered to be very reliable.

I've had 2 replacements since I got it Christmas 2017. Each one has some kind of issue. I'm glad I didn't spend my money on it, but I feel bad for my gift giver.

Would it pay to back update to earlier version? When I got this current one, the Version was V-4.4.2 amd the distance, and elevation readouts were working.

User avatar
larry31
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 03 Feb 2018, 02:46
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 2 times
Contact:

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by larry31 » 18 Oct 2018, 14:11

Nock-Nock, ANYBODY THERE????

User avatar
AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Posts: 1248
Joined: 07 Oct 2010, 07:59
Drone Type: Bebop
Has thanked: 39 times
Been thanked: 36 times

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by AR.Tommy » 18 Oct 2018, 14:38

larry31 wrote:
18 Oct 2018, 14:11
Nock-Nock, ANYBODY THERE????
Do you need an older firmware version to try it?
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

User avatar
dries_w
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 18 Oct 2018, 10:05
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 22 times
Been thanked: 20 times

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by dries_w » 18 Oct 2018, 15:24

Imo it has nothing to do with the FW version, no member of the 'old' Parrot BB2 forum complained about that, in fact about anything on this FW.
You have no distance read out on display or GPS version in FFpro because you dont have a working GPS, so the suggestion done bij Parrot CS is not that strange. Your GPS module does not work, checked the flatcable connection under the GPS module?
BB2 since december 2015 - iPhoine - Xiaomi WiFi extender - allways latest updates

User avatar
waterlanding
Up and hovering
Posts: 102
Joined: 11 Nov 2017, 18:01
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 25 times
Been thanked: 37 times

Re: Bebop GPS Lock ?????

Post by waterlanding » 18 Oct 2018, 19:47

Here's what to do...

You have 2 identical Bebops, right? Same firmware, but GPS works on one and not on the other...

Try swapping the GPS modules. It only takes a couple of minutes. Then set them outside and wait for a GPS lock. If the problem travels with the module, you have a bad GPS module. If the problem sticks with the same drone, you have a bad connector, or a problem with the motherboard.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest