Login to disable ads!

How to extend AR Drone wifi range using wifi router (b/g/n)

Router, repeater (extender), GPS unit, antenna, tablet, FPV goggle, HD battery, charger, carrying case... etc.
webvan
Ready for take off
Posts: 27
Joined: 01 Aug 2013, 23:46
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to extend AR Drone wifi range using wifi router (b/g/n)

Post by webvan » 13 Jun 2016, 11:05

Still using my Edimax EW-7416APN extender that creates its own network SSID so you know what you're connecting to (i.e. not the Drone's wifi). No issues controlling it however I've noticed that sometimes the video signal is lost even though it's showing 3 bars. Anyone seen that with a repeater before ? Bandwidth issues? Thanks !

User avatar
solaris8x86
Strange wobble
Posts: 233
Joined: 23 Jun 2015, 17:02
Drone Type: Bebop 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: How to extend AR Drone wifi range using wifi router (b/g/n)

Post by solaris8x86 » 14 Jun 2016, 04:36

webvan wrote:Still using my Edimax EW-7416APN extender that creates its own network SSID so you know what you're connecting to (i.e. not the Drone's wifi). No issues controlling it however I've noticed that sometimes the video signal is lost even though it's showing 3 bars. Anyone seen that with a repeater before ? Bandwidth issues? Thanks !

The repeater shows only the signal (bars) in between your tablet and the repeater. Not the repeater to the drone. That's why a repeater mod is a depreciated mod.
Advancing Bebop 2 to Router Mod with deep explanation: http://youtu.be/cumh4VZonVE
Bebop 2 Flight Record #0010 Finale (must watch): http://youtu.be/1pNyMSKwWaQ

webvan
Ready for take off
Posts: 27
Joined: 01 Aug 2013, 23:46
Drone Type: AR.Drone 2
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to extend AR Drone wifi range using wifi router (b/g/n)

Post by webvan » 14 Jun 2016, 07:14

Maybe that's the case with a repeater that uses the same SSID as the Drone but not with the EW-7416APN as the signal level shown in the app does change as the Drone flies further back and forth. If it showed the signal level between the smartphone and the repeater it would not change.

Bensen
Newcomer
Posts: 1
Joined: 07 Aug 2019, 01:16
Drone Type: DISCO
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: How to extend AR Drone wifi range using wifi router (b/g/n)

Post by Bensen » 07 Aug 2019, 01:23

bimo2700mf wrote:
31 Dec 2010, 19:36
NOTE :

this thread idea come from one of our expert member MAPGPS & his/her friend kapejod , one of his/her post in http://www.ardrone-flyers.com/forum/vie ... ?f=8&t=374 , MAPGPS explain how to connect ar drone as a wifi client to your access point, you can also see kapejod blog in http://www.kapejod.org/2010/08/parrot-a ... /#comments

All the Credit goes to MAPGPS & kapejod

my tutorial is using mac as a base, if you using windows try to find application / program that can do "telnet"

what im gonna do is, explain briefly how to extend your ar drone wifi range using an Access Point (AP) or AP Router , as you know the AR Drone wifi range is limited to 50 meters which caused people cannot play hide & seek in large area or fly as high as possible, its also usefull to prevent your AR Drone to fly away uncontrollable, as we know there are many people lost their Ar Drone when playing outdoor

with the use of AP you can extend the range up to 150 - 200 meters depends on you AP power

DISCLAIMER :

Please do at your own risk, im not responsible if you brick your AR Drone because you do the step not carefully, im just a member who like to share some KNOWLEDGE


what you need :

1 unit AR drone
1 unit AP (access Point) / AP Router with B/G capabilities
1 unit pc or mac to program the ar drone using telnet

how to program AR Drone

1. make sure turn off the wifi of your iPad/iPod/iPod touch
2. unpair the ar drone by push the button below the ar drone
3. open your mac/pc and search ar drone using your wifi tools, and make sure you connected to ar drone
4. open terminal aplication and type "telnet 192.168.1.1" without quote
5. type this command below

Code: Select all

iwconfig ath0 mode managed essid YOUR SSID; ifconfig ath0 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.1.254

NOTE :

change YOUR SSID with your AP SSID (case sensitive)
192.168.1.1 is your ar drone ip address, DO NOT change it because the current AR Drone apps in the Appstore doesn't support other ip address

192.168.1.254 is your default gateway or your ip address of your AP , ATTENTION some of wifi router default ip address are also 192.168.11.1 (linksys, ddwrt, tp-link etc) you will need to change it to 192.168.1.254 & turn off the DHCP Settings, please check the router user manual to do it correctly

6. after completed step no 5, please disconnect your pc/mac from your ar drone wifi & connect your pc/mac to your AP network
7. to test the new ip of AR Drone is already work properly you can open new Terminal window on your mac/pc and type "ping 192.168.1.1" without quote or "ping YOUR AR DRONE IP ADDRESS" if you see something like this
64 bytes from 192.168.1.1: icmp_seq=4329 ttl=64 time=7.379 ms that's mean you're already success connected your ar drone to your AP network
8. now turn on wifi on your iPad/iPod/iPhone and connect to your AP Router & CHANGE the ip address to use static ip 192.168.1.2 netmask : 255.255.255.0
9. open your favourite AR Drone Apps , my favourite is Drone Control, you should already connected to your AR Drone using your AP network
10. congratulation, you've just extended your AR Drone range upto 200 meter =)

ADD ON :
how to save the config file on your AR Drone

A simple way to create file /data/ap.sh directly on AR.Drone:
Inside the Telnet window:
# cat > /data/ap.sh

Then type 3 command lines below, and end with Ctrl-D (press key "Ctrl" with letter "D")

Code: Select all

iwconfig ath0 mode managed essid YOUR SSID
ifconfig ath0 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
route add default gw 192.168.1.254

You can check the contents in file /data/ap.sh:
# cat /data/ap.sh

Change the file runable:
# chmod 755 /data/ap.sh

to run it:
# /data/ap.sh

FAQ :

Q : i want to play AR Pursuit can i use only 1 AP for 2 AR Drone?
A : No, you must use 2 AP, because the ip address of your drone is always 192.168.1.1 , if you connect 2 AR Drone into 1 AP it will crash the network

Q : what type of AP should i use ?
A : you can use any AP or AP Router as long as support b/g wireless

Q : have you tried this before?
A : No, i only tried to connect my AR Drone to my AP but cannot control the Drone, because i changed my AR Drone ip address, that's why i didn't succeed, but believe me if you do the step one by one carefully this method will WORK

Q : why i should trust you?
A : is up to you to trust me or not, but actually im experienced with the wireless network because, i own an internet cafe & we connect the internet using wifi network

Q : why you didn't try it first
A : now its 1:32 AM in the morning and its a new year eve, i just have this idea instantly, maybe i will try it tomorrow :D

Q : how to reset default to original ar drone setting?
A : just plug off the battery for 1 minute and plug it in again , you will reset the setting to original ar drone factory default

Q : i want to play my ar drone outdoor, but the AP Router need AC Power to power it on, do you have any aolution
A : actually you can buy power inverter in your local electrical store, it will convert DC to AC Current, plug the power inverter to your car cigarette lighter & plug the AP adaptor in to it, place the AP Router on your car hood & you're ready to play
Hello,
This method didn't work for me.
Can you help me please ?

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest