Downgrading from firmware 1.11.5...?

Problems of AR Drone 1.0, Freeflight 1.
flyer42
Ready for take off
Drone Type: AR.Drone

Downgrading from firmware 1.11.5...?

Post by flyer42 » 06 Jul 2015, 13:52

Hi,

Newbie here on the forum, hope I'm posting this in the right place.

I need to downgrade the firmware of my AR Drone 1.0 from the factory latest (1.11.5) version to an older one, and I already tried everything I could think of but I can't make it work...

- I can seemingly connect to the drone via FTP following Parrot's instructions (tried both Mac and Win, with different FTP software) but the connection is either not established at all, or if it SEEMS to be established, however, the file transfer fails every time (times out)

- Tried the Firmware Manager for AR.Drone iPhone app, it starts the file transfer, then the indication of progress disappears (the confirmation popup to restart the AR Drone never shows up) and restarting the AR Drone results in no firmware change (tried several times, resetting it after unsuccessful attempts, to no avail). The drone just starts up normally in the usual time, with green lights and ready to fly - the firmware remains the same.

It seems like the drone doesn't accept the file transfer, no matter how I try to transfer the firmware file.

Any suggestions?

AR.Tommy
Charged up again
Drone Type: Bebop

Re: Downgrading from firmware 1.11.5...?

Post by AR.Tommy » 06 Jul 2015, 14:56

Hello,

it is very important that you connect to port 5551. Did you do that?

If it still refuses the file - chances are, that the flash memory is full (for whatever reasons) or it's corrupt. You can telnet to the AR.Drone and check with the command "df" if there is enough space.

But even if you could upload the file the AR.Drone would not install it, without manipulating files on the AR.Drone. The AR.Drone installs only versions higher than the current firmware.
http://www.digitalsirup.com

Sweet and delicious apps for your drones.

flyer42