Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Mirumod, Macgyver, hull, cam, propeller, leg, cross, ball bearing mods... etc.
User avatar
GreenTwig
Ready for take off
Posts: 14
Joined: 19 Oct 2010, 00:15
Location: BNE, AUS
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by GreenTwig » 31 Oct 2010, 08:17

Hi all!

Is it possible to add a password to the AR Drone WIFI connection?

GT :mrgreen:

Symon
Site Admin
Posts: 443
Joined: 18 Aug 2010, 21:45
Drone Type: Jumping Sumo
Location: Southampton, UK
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by Symon » 31 Oct 2010, 09:56

No it's not, but it does remember your Mac address of your iOS device's Wifi so others can not connect.

User avatar
GreenTwig
Ready for take off
Posts: 14
Joined: 19 Oct 2010, 00:15
Location: BNE, AUS
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by GreenTwig » 31 Oct 2010, 10:10

bummer... yeah telnetted into it and had a look around, didn't see anything :(

reason is I'm having trouble getting my ubuntu to connect to the unit. I've been reading it's an issue with connecting to access points that have no password.

Either I wait for an update, try to put a password on my ARDrone or I downgrade to 10.04 of Ubuntu.

I'm impatient so I guess I'll go the downgrade :roll:

User avatar
slider
Ready for take off
Posts: 45
Joined: 25 Aug 2010, 14:06
Location: North Devon
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by slider » 03 Nov 2010, 15:02

Remember, it is not strictly an access point but an ad hoc network

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by MAPGPS » 03 Nov 2010, 15:10

AR.Drone can access WiFi AP (Access Point) with password protected.

This is how I did:

telnet 192.168.1.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

Then AR.Drone will work in WiFi Infrastructure (Client) mode.
And you can then access AR.Drone with IP: 192.168.0.100
Last edited by MAPGPS on 01 Oct 2011, 03:33, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
rogueqd
Up and hovering
Posts: 121
Joined: 25 Oct 2010, 15:28
Location: Sydney, Australia
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by rogueqd » 04 Nov 2010, 00:05

Would that mean you can use a wireless router to extend the range? eg, set up a small generator with a router in the middle of a park.

g00bd0g
Ready for take off
Posts: 16
Joined: 21 Oct 2010, 03:48
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by g00bd0g » 04 Nov 2010, 08:15

MAPGPS wrote:AR.Drone can access WiFi AP (Access Point) with password protected.

This is how I did:

telnet 192.168.0.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

Then AR.Drone will work in WiFi Infrastructure (Client) mode.
And you can then access AR.Drone with IP: 192.168.0.100
This is awesome! How do you get the drone app to use the new new IP? Will the settings stick through a power cycle and/or how to restore the original settings? I am itching to try this.

g00bd0g
Ready for take off
Posts: 16
Joined: 21 Oct 2010, 03:48
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by g00bd0g » 04 Nov 2010, 09:10

OK, I tried. I can telnet into the drone but settings don't seem to "take". I just tried the iwconfig, setting it to managed mode, which didn't seem to tdo anything. And changing the essid always just seemed to "blank" out essid field. Fortunately a power-cycle restored it to it's defaul settings so I haven't screwed anything up.

Is is possible you could detail this a bit better? Maybe even with screen caps for us dummies?

Thanks!

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by MAPGPS » 05 Nov 2010, 12:37

g00bd0g wrote: This is awesome! How do you get the drone app to use the new new IP? Will the settings stick through a power cycle and/or how to restore the original settings? I am itching to try this.
Yes, I can fly AR.Drone use the new IP with a SDK1.5 Win32 demo by modify the default 192.168.1.1 to this new IP.
I even tried to fly my AR.Drone at home from office via Internet!

Please do NOT do persistent settings (e.g: via file rcS) to WiFi before you can make sure your settings are 100% OK. Otherwise you'll no longer connect to your AR.Drone any more! The only way to fix it is to re-flash via USB (net help from Parrot supporter).

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by MAPGPS » 05 Nov 2010, 12:43

g00bd0g wrote:OK, I tried. I can telnet into the drone but settings don't seem to "take". I just tried the iwconfig, setting it to managed mode, which didn't seem to tdo anything. And changing the essid always just seemed to "blank" out essid field. Fortunately a power-cycle restored it to it's defaul settings so I haven't screwed anything up.

Is is possible you could detail this a bit better? Maybe even with screen caps for us dummies?

Thanks!
The essid parameter is the essid of your AP.
The key s: parameter is the password of your AP with WEP.

iwconfig is for WiFi settings within a power-cycle.

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by MAPGPS » 06 Nov 2010, 01:26

The IP assignment I did is just want to keep the IP of my AP unchanged (as some computers at my home have hardcoded IP or routing).

If you want to keep AR.Drone's IP as the default 192.168.1.1, you need to change the IP of your AP (here I use 192.168.1.254). So the WiFi setting commands become:
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.1.254

So you can still use iPhone to control your AR.Drone over WiFi AP without app changes.

urban123
Battery Charged
Posts: 5
Joined: 15 Nov 2010, 20:45
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by urban123 » 26 Nov 2010, 19:58

but if you change the ip adress of the ar drone, how can you set it back to 192.168.1.1?
MAPGPS wrote:AR.Drone can access WiFi AP (Access Point) with password protected.

This is how I did:

telnet 192.168.0.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

Then AR.Drone will work in WiFi Infrastructure (Client) mode.
And you can then access AR.Drone with IP: 192.168.0.100

User avatar
GreenTwig
Ready for take off
Posts: 14
Joined: 19 Oct 2010, 00:15
Location: BNE, AUS
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by GreenTwig » 26 Nov 2010, 20:14

"iwconfig is for WiFi settings within a power-cycle."

GT :mrgreen:

User avatar
bimo2700mf
Ready for take off
Posts: 42
Joined: 31 Dec 2010, 08:49
Location: jakarta, indonesia
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by bimo2700mf » 31 Dec 2010, 17:11

MAPGPS wrote:AR.Drone can access WiFi AP (Access Point) with password protected.

This is how I did:

telnet 192.168.0.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

Then AR.Drone will work in WiFi Infrastructure (Client) mode.
And you can then access AR.Drone with IP: 192.168.0.100
how about if my wifi router is not password protected, is this step correct?

telnet 192.168.0.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

MAPGPS
Strange wobble
Posts: 201
Joined: 26 Oct 2010, 03:03
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

Re: Add Password to WIFI... Can it be done?

Post by MAPGPS » 31 Dec 2010, 17:27

bimo2700mf wrote:
MAPGPS wrote:AR.Drone can access WiFi AP (Access Point) with password protected.

This is how I did:

telnet 192.168.1.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed key s:12345 essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1

Then AR.Drone will work in WiFi Infrastructure (Client) mode.
And you can then access AR.Drone with IP: 192.168.0.100
how about if my wifi router is not password protected, is this step correct?

telnet 192.168.1.1
iwconfig ath0 mode managed essid MAPGPS; ifconfig ath0 192.168.0.100 netmask 255.255.255.0 up; route add default gw 192.168.0.1
Yes, it is correct.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest