Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Router, repeater (extender), GPS unit, antenna, tablet, FPV goggle, HD battery, charger, carrying case... etc.
Post Reply
USMCGecko
Strange wobble
Posts: 210
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 21:26

Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Post by USMCGecko » 11 May 2012, 01:42

wilder54 wrote:You won't regret it. It's a rush flying high
I'm scared just going normal height. I need to work my way up.

This is the highest I've been. Got a little windy.

Image

jarettp
Just flips over
Posts: 60
Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 16:34

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by jarettp » 11 May 2012, 14:07

wish that guy who claims to fly 300 meters high "all the time" would post a vid.

USMCGecko
Strange wobble
Posts: 210
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 21:26

Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Post by USMCGecko » 12 May 2012, 02:49

jarettp wrote:wish that guy who claims to fly 300 meters high "all the time" would post a vid.
Yeah right!

mhoppes
Up and hovering
Posts: 137
Joined: 03 May 2012, 10:57

Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Post by mhoppes » 12 May 2012, 12:55

I just became aware of an cautionary issue when flying with a repeater.

If u fly with your phone or tablet and lose wifi connection....no big deal, just walk closer and reestablish connection.

If you fly with a repeater and you get out 300 or 500 feet and lose connection, now you have a really bad situation with the drone hovering 500 feet up and no way to get it back unless you move the repeater.

wilder54
Ready for take off
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2012, 01:46

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by wilder54 » 12 May 2012, 13:22

Subject: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).
mhoppes wrote:I just became aware of an cautionary issue when flying with a repeater.

If u fly with your phone or tablet and lose wifi connection....no big deal, just walk closer and reestablish connection.

If you fly with a repeater and you get out 300 or 500 feet and lose connection, now you have a really bad situation with the drone hovering 500 feet up and no way to get it back unless you move the repeater.

you could use an extension cord or try adjusting the antennas

mhoppes
Up and hovering
Posts: 137
Joined: 03 May 2012, 10:57

Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).

Post by mhoppes » 12 May 2012, 13:34

wilder54 wrote:Subject: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).
mhoppes wrote:I just became aware of an cautionary issue when flying with a repeater.

If u fly with your phone or tablet and lose wifi connection....no big deal, just walk closer and reestablish connection.

If you fly with a repeater and you get out 300 or 500 feet and lose connection, now you have a really bad situation with the drone hovering 500 feet up and no way to get it back unless you move the repeater.

you could use an extension cord or try adjusting the antennas
understood. I'm try throwing the caution out there for anyone wanting to try this.

jarettp
Just flips over
Posts: 60
Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 16:34

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by jarettp » 13 May 2012, 03:55

mhoppes wrote:
wilder54 wrote:Subject: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).
mhoppes wrote:I just became aware of an cautionary issue when flying with a repeater.

If u fly with your phone or tablet and lose wifi connection....no big deal, just walk closer and reestablish connection.

If you fly with a repeater and you get out 300 or 500 feet and lose connection, now you have a really bad situation with the drone hovering 500 feet up and no way to get it back unless you move the repeater.

you could use an extension cord or try adjusting the antennas
understood. I'm try throwing the caution out there for anyone wanting to try this.
I lost connection for about 2 seconds. The drone lowered itself immediately and the repeater reestsblished a connection.

jarettp
Just flips over
Posts: 60
Joined: 24 Apr 2012, 16:34

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by jarettp » 13 May 2012, 04:11

Got it to about 300 feet today before I wussed out. Anyone flying it at 500 has balls of steel.

[youtube]http://youtu.be/6zu_hyuemLQ[/youtube]
Last edited by jarettp on 14 May 2012, 14:25, edited 1 time in total.

wilder54
Ready for take off
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2012, 01:46

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by wilder54 » 13 May 2012, 13:11

cool, 300 is plenty. It don't hover steady enough for 500, but give it a try and let me know

Prometheus Xex
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 12 May 2012, 18:44
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Prometheus Xex » 14 May 2012, 17:05

Hi there (new here)...

I've been watching this forum, specifically keeping an eye on the mods. I'm trying to decide if extending the WIFI range with repeaters, etc, is the way to go... as opposed to the RC mod that I've been reading about. Is there really an advantage to range extending? Seems like you have to try to carry around the repeater and by the time you factor in the costs of the repeater and possible antenna mods, you might as well get the RC mod?

Opinions appreciated. :)

I currently have the Drone 2.0

USMCGecko
Strange wobble
Posts: 210
Joined: 08 Apr 2012, 21:26

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by USMCGecko » 14 May 2012, 17:35

From my understanding, the RC mod does not transmit video to your iDevice. So if you just use and RC mod you will loose video if you go beyond the extent of the video transmission. RC is supposed to offer better control. The repeater on the other hand is just increasing what you already have and the set up you are currently using, including video. It's just what you want.

Prometheus Xex
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 12 May 2012, 18:44
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Prometheus Xex » 14 May 2012, 17:59

I was thinking about this further. One benefit, in my case, to increasing wifi is the fact that I can set the drones camera in one direction, while completely flying it about. If I'm going to use it to video some party boat cruises, this would be a benefit. I'm not sure if the RC mod allows for the same feature as offered by the 2.0 "absolute mode" setup.

SOUTHPAWMIKE
Newcomer
Posts: 3
Joined: 15 May 2012, 21:16

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by SOUTHPAWMIKE » 15 May 2012, 21:27

I'm having no luck with this mod. I seem to be able to configure the repeater I'm using, but when I launch the Free Flight app when connected to the network broadcast by the repeater, the option to Pilot is grayed out, and I'm told it can't connect to the drone. The same thing seems to happen when I try to use the normal drone network, while the repeater is online.

I'm using a V2 drone, an iPad and an Amped Wirelss SR10000.

Prometheus Xex
Ready for take off
Posts: 29
Joined: 12 May 2012, 18:44
Location: Toronto
Contact:

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by Prometheus Xex » 15 May 2012, 21:39

SOUTHPAWMIKE wrote:I'm having no luck with this mod. I seem to be able to configure the repeater I'm using, but when I launch the Free Flight app when connected to the network broadcast by the repeater, the option to Pilot is grayed out, and I'm told it can't connect to the drone. The same thing seems to happen when I try to use the normal drone network, while the repeater is online.

I'm using a V2 drone, an iPad and an Amped Wirelss SR10000.

This was the setup I was thinking of going with. I hope you get this working!

wilder54
Ready for take off
Posts: 46
Joined: 05 May 2012, 01:46

Re: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR3

Post by wilder54 » 15 May 2012, 22:25

Subject: Wifi repeater range extension. Amped AP300 (actually SR300).
SOUTHPAWMIKE wrote:I'm having no luck with this mod. I seem to be able to configure the repeater I'm using, but when I launch the Free Flight app when connected to the network broadcast by the repeater, the option to Pilot is grayed out, and I'm told it can't connect to the drone. The same thing seems to happen when I try to use the normal drone network, while the repeater is online.

I'm using a V2 drone, an iPad and an Amped Wirelss SR10000.
I'm not sure why you can't connect to your drone the standard way without going through the repeater but I do know you got to have your drone on before you turn on the router that way the router detects the drones IP address

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests